“I Hate America”

 

 

As I was diving to our small little town, just a short four miles, I hear my son tell me how he hates America. We have a lot of our deep conversations in the car, and even though this wouldn’t be an abnormal time or place to talk about it, I was totally in shock.

I have to say I don’t think I did very well with this one….All I could think about was where did he get this garbage from. Was he hearing it at school, or TV? Maybe it was me and all my political complaints. Could I have caused him the hatred of his country. Maybe as a society we have come to devalue what has been given us because we are born here.

The freedom we have was paid for in blood. Paved with grief and tears. Raised in hard work. Given by a Creator as a reflection of his freedom.

Our freedom’s  in the United States of America are God-given and blessed. I am thankful for and  so in love with this country.

My son thinks that because we are a prosperous country and other countries are not then he should hate the country that he is born into.  This sounds a lot like the white privilege propaganda that is out there now these days.

In this country ALL men are created equal. That means no matter the color of your skin, what faith you believe, or even what career you have, you are the same as me and I am the same as you.

We are endowed by our creator (God not Government)certain rights, and these are life, freedom, and the pursuit of happiness. This means that we are free to live a life of seeking out what is best for ourselves  without out fear of being harmed by the entities that be. Another words we are free to worship God without worry of being beheaded if worshiping God is what makes us happy.

I did explain to my son that it isn’t the government’s job to take care of the oppressed in other countries. It is my job and his job to do that. As Christians we should have a heart to want to help those who don’t have the same rights as we do. I told him that Christians in the U.S.A  ( and around the world) on average do more for those who are oppressed than any government has ever done. It has been that way for more than two thousand years and will be that way until Jesus returns.

I am so blessed to be an American. I am proud of our heritage. I am grateful for our privilege of freedom.

Take the time and express your opinion about America. Please take the time to comment and share openly.

 

Leave a Reply

