Bless the Children

The other week I stood their waiting to speak with my pastor after service. It wasn’t my turn and there was someone who had lots of important things to tell him. This person was a little girl who was about 5 or 6 years old. My pastor never interrupted her, he smiled and shook his head, intently listening to every word while she talked to him. He even sat down in a chair so he could get lower to her level.

I was not angry that this child was talking silliness while I had important things to talk about( really didn’t have anything important to say, but that is the attitudes of some in the church towards God’s little ones.).Instead I listened to this little girl go  on and on about everything in her life.

Luke 18:16 But Jesus called the children to him and said, “Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of God belongs to such as these.

I watched my pastor and how he received her. He did exactly what Jesus did. Jesus told his disciples to bring the children to him and he blessed them. I wondered how many of them talked to Jesus about their cat, or things they planned to do with their dad. It probably took Jesus hours to bless them.

After she was done I jokingly told my pastor there was plenty of need in the children’s ministry.

The children’s ministry is not a place that is beneath anyone. It certainly wasn’t beneath Jesus. It is important to Him. When you minister to Children you are fulfilling what he said. You are bringing the children to Him instead of forbidding them to come.

I encourage you to take the time this week to minister to a child. Think of a way you could be like Jesus for them. You could visit a sick child in the hospital,take a neighborhood child to church,or Just give a listening ear to one who just needs to tell somebody about their cat. It could make all the difference in that child’s life.

Leave a Reply

